COMMISSION

PHILIP C. BASHAW- CHAIRMAN
JIM SWEENEY - VICE CHAIRMAN
RUSSELL L. JONES - COMMISSIONER
KIM OWENS - COMMISSIONER
JOHN F. SULLIVAN - COMMISSIONER

STAFF

JORDY FUENTES – EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR HEATHER COLE – EXECUTIVE SECRETARY



ARIZONA POWER AUTHORITY

1810 W. ADAMS STREET PHOENIX, AZ 85007-2697 (602) 368-4265

WWW.POWERAUTHORITY.ORG

MINUTES OF THE ARIZONA POWER AUTHORITY ("APA") VIRTUAL SPECIAL COMMISSION ("Commission") MEETING HELD JUNE 30, 2023

PRESENT: Philip C. Bashaw, Chairman

Russ Jones, Commissioner Kim Owens, Commissioner John Sullivan, Chairman Jim Sweeney, Vice Chairman

STAFF: Heather Cole, Executive Secretary to Commission

Diane DeDea, Attorney General's Office

Jordy Fuentes, Executive Director Ben Norris, Attorney General's Office John Schutter, Senior Accountant

Sonseeahray Thayer, Financial Administrator

OTHER: Eileen Brien, APECO

Isaac Brainard, Salt River Project Michael Curtis, Cortaro Marana

Dennis Delaney, KR Saline & Associates Taylor Howerter. Roosevelt Irrigation District

Dan Jones, Electrical District #4

Diego Leal, AMPUA Patrick Ledger, AEPCO

Derek McEachern, Electrical District #4

Frank McRae, SPPA

Kristine McMinimy, AEPCO Amber Parker, AZ G&T

Ken Robbins, Electrical District #2 Ken Saline, KR Saline & Associates Scott Saline, KR Saline & Associates

John Scremin, Roosevelt Water Conservation District

Elizabeth Story

Robert Van Hofwegen, Electrical District #8

CALL TO ORDER: The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by Chairman Phil Bashaw. Quorum was established.

ROLL CALL: Commissioners Bashaw, Jones, Sullivan and Sweeney were present.

CHAIRMAN REQUEST FOR DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST BY ANY COMMISSIONER:

Each Commissioner declared they had no conflict of interest on any matter as listed on the agenda for today's meeting.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

MOTION TO GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

- Motion to go into Executive Session, which will not be open to the public pursuant to A.R.S. § 38-431.03(A)(3), for discussion and/or consultation with the Authority's counsel for legal advice relating to:
 - o the Authority's possible participation in the Empowering Rural America ("New ERA") Grant Program through the Authority becoming a Class B member of the Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. ("AEPCO"), and
 - o the possible need to retain (1) Outside Legal Counsel for services relating to joining AEPCO, and all contractual obligations between the Authority and its customers and between the Authority and AEPCO related to the New ERA Grant Program opportunity, and
 - (2) a Technical Expert to assist the Authority in determining how much electricity and how much storage capacity to seek through a possible membership in AEPCO and other aspects of the New ERA Grant Program opportunity and discussion or consultation for legal advice with the attorneys of the Authority regarding the same was made by Commissioner Jones and seconded by Commissioner Sullivan.
- Vote: Commissioners Bashaw, Jones, Owens, Sullivan & Sweeney approved the motion.
- **Resolved:** Approved as stated above and the written documents are entered into the Commission records.
- ➤ Commissioner Owens joined the Commission Meeting at 9:07 a.m.
- The Commission recessed to go into Executive Session at 9:13 a.m.
- The Commission began the Executive Session at 9:18 a.m.
- The Commission returned to Open Session at 11:00 a.m.

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

CHAIRMAN REQUEST FOR DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST BY ANY COMMISSIONER:

➤ Commissioner Owens declared she had no conflict of interest on any matter as listed on the agenda for today's meeting.

MOTION(S) ON ITEMS DISCUSSED IN EXECUTIVE SESSION

• **Motion**: to enter into an agreement with John Coyle of Duncan Allen for Outside Legal Counsel for services relating to joining AEPCO, and all contractual obligations between the Authority and

its customers and between the Authority and AEPCO related to the New ERA Grant Program opportunity was made by Commissioner Sullivan and seconded by Vice Chairman Sweeney.

- Vote: Commissioners Bashaw, Jones, Owens, Sullivan & Sweeney approved the motion.
- **Resolved:** Approved as stated above and the written documents are entered into the Commission records
- **Motion**: to have the Arizona Power Authority apply to become a Class B member of the Arizona Electric Power Cooperative, Inc. ("AEPCO"), was made by Commissioner Jones and seconded by Vice Chairman Sweeney.
- Vote: Commissioners Bashaw, Jones, Owens, Sullivan & Sweeney approved the motion.
- **Resolved:** Approved as stated above and the written documents are entered into the Commission records
- **Motion**: to contract with KR Saline & Associates as Technical Experts to assist the Authority in determining how much electricity and how much storage capacity to seek through a possible membership in AEPCO and other aspects of the New ERA Grant Program opportunity with the contract shall not exceed \$10,000, was made by Commissioner Jones and seconded by Commissioner Sullivan.
- Vote: Commissioners Bashaw, Jones, Owens, Sullivan & Sweeney approved the motion.
- **Resolved:** Approved as stated above and the written documents are entered into the Commission records

COMMISSIONER COMMENTS: N/A

VISITOR COMMENTS: Ken Saline thanked the Commissioners and APA Staff for their work in putting together this opportunity for the APA Customers and other public power entities to possibly acquire more firming power.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Commission, Chairman Bashaw adjourned the meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:21 a.m.	
	Phil Bashaw, Chairman
ATTEST:	
Heather J. Cole, Executive Secretary to Commission	 ion