Arizona Power Authority Commissioners

Russell L. Jones


Appointed to the Arizona Power Authority Commission in January 2014, Russell L. Jones was appointed upon the retirement of Lt. Gen. John I. Hudson, U.S.M.C. (Ret) for a term to expire in 2018. Russ Jones served as an Arizona State Representative for District 24. Russ has been a successful small businessman for many years. He is currently the President/CEO of R.L. Jones Management Group. He is a licensed Insurance Broker and Notary for the State of Arizona. He also has a National Customs Brokers License with a Customs Import Specialists (CIS) designation.

Phil Bashaw

Arizona Farm Bureau Chief Executive Officer and Executive Secretary Philip Bashaw leads the agriculture organization’s staff, overseeing the day-to-day operations of Arizona’s largest general farm organization.

Bashaw grew up in Safford, Arizona before studying Agriculture Technology Management at the University of Arizona. He started his career with AZFB in 2006 as a government relations manager where he was instrumental in working on legislation related to agricultural property taxes, transportation and air quality regulations related to the Agriculture BMP Program. He was also active in AZFB’s efforts for visa reform and studied the economics of immigration while obtaining his master’s degree in Public Policy from New England College.

Phil has also served as the Director of Government Relations and Grassroots Advocacy for the Grand Canyon State Electric Cooperative Association (GCSECA) for 5 years.

During his time with GCSECA, Bashaw has been involved in a number of grassroots campaigns related to environmental regulations, electricity markets and utility rate structures. Bashaw also spearheaded efforts to protect critical funding sources for cooperative community support programs such as scholarships and utility bill assistance.

Phil and his wife, Lauren, live in Gilbert, Arizona with their two young children.

Dalton H. Cole


Appointed to the Commission in January 2002 and re-appointed through his present term expiring in 2020, Dalton Cole is a retired businessman and farmer. A past-member of the Central Arizona Water Conservation District Board, Mr. Cole co-founded and chaired the HoHoKam Irrigation District. He also served on the board of Electrical District No. 2 in Pinal County for 18 years and is a past chairman. In addition, Mr. Cole is a past chairman of the State Board of Directors for Community Colleges. He has served on the Ground Water Management Committee for Pinal County, as well as advisory committees to the Arizona Legislature regarding water and power issues.

John Sullivan


John was appointed to the Arizona Power Authority on February 6, 2017. At the end of February, 2016 John Sullivan retired from Salt River Project as Deputy General Manager and Chief Strategic Initiatives Executive. In his 45 year career at SRP he held senior executive positions with responsibility for strategic planning, electric resource planning and management, water resource planning and management, water construction, maintenance and operations, and inter-utility contracts. John continues to provide consulting part-time on water matters.

John has served on boards for: National Water Resources Association, Colorado River Water Users Association, Water for the West Foundation, Arizona Agribusiness and Water Council, Desert Botanical Garden, Arizona Town Hall, and Tempe United Way Campaign. He is a native of Arizona with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering degree from the University of Arizona. John and his wife have three adult children.